Hajj Worship

Reminder: Brief summary of

Hajj Worship

The fifth pillar of Islam, which every Muslim must fulfil once in his life, can only be fulfilled under several conditions :

Being a Muslim

Having reached the age of puberty

Being healthy

To be sane

Having the financial capabilities

This money cannot be financed by borrowing or using illegal money.

The benefits of Hajj are many-sided and have religious, personal, social, moral and educational dimensions. Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam and was made fard in the 9th year of Hijrah.

Al-Bukhari and Muslim reported that the Prophet (ﷺ) said :

« If anyone performs the pilgrimage for God’s sake without talking immodestly or acting wickedly, he will return [free from sin] as on the day his mother bore him. »
« Pilgrimage to the House is a duty owed to Allah by all who can make their way to it. » (Surah 3, verse 97).

Pillars of Hajj

The Hajj is based on four pillars*:
*The pilgrimage is declared void if one of these acts has not been performed.

1st pillar


State of

2nd pillar


Standing on
Mount Arafat

3rd pillar


around the Kaaba
(Tawaf Al-Ifada after Arafat)

4th pillar


Making Sa'i between As-Safa and Al-Marwa

State of sanctification


hram as a state of sanctification must be fulfilled before entering the holy site. Moral sanctity : Men and women express their intention to perform the Hajj in definite terms. Bodily sanctity : men wear a seamless loincloth and a piece of cloth covering the shoulders and sandals. Women keep their clothes on and uncover their faces and hands.

TAWAF Al-Ifada

The Tawaf Al-Ifada, which is performed after waqfah in Arafat, is a tawaf of 7 rounds around the Kaaba in a counterclockwise direction starting from the black stone or the red line drawn on the ground.


A procession between the two hills (As-Safa and Al-Marwa) inside Makkah, consisting of seven laps starting from Al-Safa. The length of the route is approximately 395 metres.
Standing on Mount 'Arafat


This obligatory pilgrimage, which is performed from the ninth day of Dhul-Hijjah until the dawn of Eid, is the greatest pillar of Hajj. On this day of great ecstasy, pilgrims beg Allah for forgiveness, mercy and protection at the foot of the Mount of Rahmet (Mercy) in the plain of Arafat.
Arrival in


In Mina, located between Makkah and Arafat, there are three obelisks representing Satan. Throwing stones at the obelisks consists of throwing seven stones at them. Pilgrims should spend at least two nights there.


It involves the sacrifice of a sheep or cattle in honour of the movement of Prophet Abraham. The sacrifice takes place at any point in the holy region (Mina, Makkah, Muzdalifah).